Xewkija Tigers win the GFA Cup for the 10th time

GFA Cup – Final

Sunday, 1st May, 2016


Gozo Stadium

Ghajnsielem vs Xewkija Tigers

Xewkija Tigers won their 10th GFA Cup in their history and became the club which won it the most. The game was an exciting one which Xewkija Tigers deserved to win. Once again, the defence kept another clean sheet while the strikers kept the Blacks always on edge. Xewkija kept the same line-up which won again Ghajnsielem a week before with Gennaro Hili replacing Manuel Xerri at the back being the only change. On the other hand, Ghajnsielem had a boost in Shaun Bajada and Joseph Vella taking their place in the first 11.

Ghajnsielem had their first chance of the game when Dhonatan Santos received the ball in the box in an inviting position but his effort was blocked by a last ditch tackle by Josmar Vella. Xewkija couldn’t have a better start on the other hand when they took the lead in the 8th minute. Thiago Melo dos Santos crossed in the box and Dene Shields with a towering header opened the score. Ghajnsielem reacted later and had a goal disallowed after Ferdinando Apap fouled goalie Steve Sultana. Xewkija Tigers appealed for a penalty when Thiago Melo dos Santos seemed to be fouled in the box but the referee let the play proceed. Ghajnsielem responded with a free-kick from Shaun Bajada which sailed high and exactly on the 45th minute Steve Sultana saved brilliantly and also from the rebound after a Yannick Ossok header.

Ghajnsielem pushed hard for the draw but their possession never materialised to clear cut chances. Instead Xewkija created the better chances especially when Melo dos Santos beat the offside trap and when one on one with the goalie, his attempt was blocked by Franklyn Vella. Thiago Melo dos Santos made amends with this miss on the 63rd minute when he outbalanced the Blacks’ defence and with a low shot from a very angled position the Brazilian striker made the score 2-0. At this time the Tigers concentrated on closing the gaps and refraining Ghajnsielem from creating any chances. The Blacks only chances from shots from outside the box and a dangerous free-kick by Shaun Bajada which went high. The Tigers’ managed to keep the score the same and therefore the GFA Cup as theirs for the 10th time.


Final Result: Ghajnsielem   0     Xewkija Tigers   2


Xewkija T. –99.Dene Shields (8’), 18.Thiago Melo dos Santos (63’).



Ghajnsielem:- 12-Franklyn Vella, 3-Ferdinando Apap (C.), 18-Shaun Bajada, 15-Yannick Ossok (4-Simon Sultana), 13-Antonio Xuereb, 77-Kenneth Mercieca, 17-Stefan Azzopardi (19-Jean Pierre Mifsud Triganza), 7-Kenny Hili, 22-Milos Stojanovic, 11-Dhonathan Santos da Hora, 21-Joseph Vella (8-Charles Hili).

Xewkija Tigers:- 1-Steve Sultana, 4-Josmar Vella, 13-Gennaro Hili, 14-Joseph Cefai (C.), 10-Christ Camilleri (55-Alex Simoncic), 80-Daniel Bogdanovic, 15-Cedric Sciberras (7-Jason Portelli), 20-Rodney Buttigieg, 18-Thiago Melo dos Santos (3-Joseph Azzopardi), 9-Johnny Camilleri, 99-Dene Shields.


Referee: Sandro Spiteri





Leave a Comment